Jesse Hartloff

CSE 250: Data Structures
Fall 2015

syllabus
Piazza

Office: Davis 344
Office Hours:
Tuesday 2-3
Thursday 2-3


Anonymous feedback form:




Tentative Schedule

Date Topic Reading Notes
Week 1: C++ Introduction
Monday, August 31 Course/C++ Introduction (Slides)
Wednesday, September 2 C++ Basics (Slides)
Friday, September 4 C++: Functions and References (Slides)
Week 2: C++ Introduction
Monday, September 7 No Class Labor Day
Wednesday, September 9 C++: Pointers and Classes (Slides)
Thursday, September 10

Friday, September 11 C++ Examples HW1 Due
Guest Lecturer: Tamal Biswas
Week 3: Function Efficiency
Monday, September 14 Asymptotic Notation (Slides)
Wednesday, September 16 Growth of Functions (Slides) HW2 Part 1 Due
Thursday, September 17

HW2 Part 2 Due
Friday, September 18 Iteration and Recursion (Slides) HW2 Part 3 Due
Week 4: Array, Vector, and Sorting
Monday, September 21 Array and Vector (Slides)
Wednesday, September 23 Vector HW3 Part 1 Due
Thursday, September 24

HW3 Part 2 Due
Friday, September 25 Sorting (Slides) HW3 Part 3 Due
Week 5: Exam Week
Monday, September 28 Examples
Wednesday, September 30 Review
Friday, October 2 Midterm Exam 1
Week 6: List, Stack and Queue
Monday, October 5 Lists (Slides)
Wednesday, October 7 Stack (Slides)
Friday, October 9 Examples
Week 7: Sets
Monday, October 12 Sets
Wednesday, October 14 Sets (Slides) HW4 Part 1 Due
Thursday, October 15

HW4 Part 2 Due
Friday, October 16 Examples HW4 Part 3 Due
Week 8: Maps
Monday, October 19 Maps
Wednesday, October 21 Maps
Thursday, October 22

Friday, October 23 Code Organization (Slides)
Week 9: Hash Table
Monday, October 26 Hash Table (Slides)
Wednesday, October 28 Hash Table (Slides) HW5 Part 1 Due
Thursday, October 29

HW5 Part 2 Due
Friday, October 30 Examples HW5 Part 3 Due
Week 10: Exam Week
Monday, November 2 Examples and Review
Wednesday, November 4 Review (Slides)
Friday, November 6 Midterm Exam 2
Week 11: Tree, Heap, Priority Queue
Monday, November 9 Tree (Slides)
Wednesday, November 11 Heap / Priority Queue (Slides)
Friday, November 13 Heap / Priority Queue
Week 12: Self-Balancing Trees and Graphs
Monday, November 16 Heap / Priority Queue
Wednesday, November 18 Self-Balancing Trees (Slides)
Friday, November 20 Graphs
Week 13: Self-Balancing Trees and Graphs
Monday, November 23 Interpreter Due
Wednesday, November 25 No Class Fall Recess
Friday, November 27 No Class Fall Recess
Week 14: Algorithms and Advanced Data Structures
Monday, November 30 Solving Recurrences (Slides)
Wednesday, December 2 Graphs (Slides)
Friday, December 4 Graph Algorithms (Slides)
Week 15: Course in Review
Monday, December 7 Graph Algorithms
Wednesday, December 9 Interview Questions (Slides)
Friday, December 11 Sample Final RhymeBot Due
Final Exam
Wednesday, December 16 Final Exam, 3:30-6:30pm